In Colorado, it is illegal for an individual over the age of 21 to drive a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or higher. In fact, you may even be arrested for having a BAC of .05%—which is known as driving while ability is impaired (DWAI). That means even if you aren’t legally “intoxicated,” you could be up against serious penalties either way. Whether you have been arrested for DWAI or DUI, it is imperative that you know your rights and the severity of penalties you are up against at this time.

Facing Charges? You Need a Denver DUI Lawyer.

Don’t let a DUI or DWAI charge damage your future and your reputation. Talk to Attorney Richard B. Huttner about your case today. As a top rated Denver DUI attorney, he can review the specifics and provide you with a clear picture of the penalties you are facing and the defense options you have.

Call now. Reach Richard B. Huttner, P.C. at 303-595-4342.

Consequences for a Drunk Driving Conviction

Depending on the specific circumstances of your case, you may be up against life-altering penalties. The more serious a record you have, the more serious the penalties will likely be. Regardless, even a first offense can carry severe consequences.

The following penalties may be upheld for DUI cases in Colorado:

  • First Offense
    • 5 days to 1 year in jail
    • Up to 2 years of probation
    • $600 to $5,000 in fines
    • 9-month license suspension
  • Second Offense:
    • 10 days to 1 year in jail
    • Up to 4 years of probation
    • $600 to $1,500 in fines
    • 9-month license suspension
    • Ignition interlock device
  • Third Offense:
    • 60 days to 1 year in jail
    • Up to 4 years of probation
    • $600 to $1,500 in fines
    • 2-year license suspension
    • Ignition interlock device
  • Fourth Offense:
    • Felony-level conviction
    • Up to 6 years in state prison
    • Up to $500,000 in fines
    • Ignition interlock device
    • Potential license revocation

There are also different penalties enforced for those with a DWAI on their record—for example, if you had a previous DWAI conviction and were convicted of DUI, you could face up to 1 year in jail, between $900 and $1,500 in fines, and up to 112 hours of public service. Additional penalties may be involved for cases where an injury or death occurred, such as vehicular manslaughter.

Are There Penalties for Refusing to Take a Chemical Test?

Colorado also has a strict implied consent law, which means that any person with a driver’s license has agreed to submit to a legal chemical test when requested by law enforcement. If you refuse to take a breath or blood test, you will be forced to pay a fine and deal with an automatic license suspension. For a first offense, you can have your license revoked for a full year. A second offense may bring a two-year revocation, and so on.

Fight Your DUI Charges. Call the Firm 24/7 at 303-595-4342.

It is very important that you work with a Denver DUI defense lawyer who can protect your driving privileges during this time—especially if you are facing a felony DUI. Get legal help with your DUI or DWAI case today. Call Attorney Richard B. Huttner for tough defense you can trust. He has handled more than 5,000 cases and is a founding member of the National College of DUI defense. He knows DUI laws and he knows proven legal strategies. With 20+ years of experience and his special training in chemical test investigations, Attorney Richard B. Huttner, P.C. is prepared to fight your DUI charges.