In Colorado, a DUI can be considered either a misdemeanor or a felony crime. No matter how it is being treated, you’ll want to make sure that you are getting expert advice from a Denver DUI attorney.
Misdemeanor DUI Offense
Your first or second DUI will be considered misdemeanors under Colorado law. The state doesn’t have a look back period. Even if your first DUI offense occurred several years ago, it will still count in your record.
The judge has quite a bit of leeway in sentencing for a first conviction for a misdemeanor DUI offense. For a driver over the age of 21 with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08 or higher, the penalty is as follows:
Jail Sentence of 5-365 days
Payment of a fine in the amount of $600-$1,000
Completion of 48-96 hours of public service
The judge can also sentence you to probation for up to two years so that you can get drug and alcohol treatment if he or she deems it appropriate. You may also be ordered to attend and pay for an appearance at a victim impact panel.
If you are convicted for misdemeanor DUI for a second (or subsequent) time, you will be facing a harsher sentence.
Jail Sentence of 90-365 days
Payment of a fine in the amount of $1000-$1,500
Completion of 60-120 hours of public service
Along with probation and/or the requirement to pay for an appearance at a victim impact panel, the courts may also add an additional two years’ probation to your sentence. This is to monitor your compliance with court orders.
Felony DUI Offenses
If you cause bodily injury or damage property in an accident while driving under the influence, you may be charged with a felony DUI. If you are charged with vehicular assault, the police are alleging that you operated your vehicle in reckless manner while under the influence and were responsible for causing injury to another person. You will be looking at a prison sentence, and the exact length of time can vary from one-12 years, depending on the circumstances.
Vehicular homicide is a very serious charge and is one that will be prosecuted very aggressively. A person in this unfortunate situation will no doubt feel a number of emotions, including guilt and remorse. That doesn’t mean that they are not entitled to a vigorous legal defense or the services of an experienced Denver DUI attorney. Penalties on conviction can be very severe; for each count the judge can order up to 24 years in prison if there are aggravating circumstances in the case.
Expert DUI Attorney Services In Colorado
Have you have been charged with a felony DUI or a misdemeanor DUI? Contact Richard B. Huttner, P.C. He is an experienced Denver DUI attorney who will listen to the facts of your case and give you the expert legal advice you need.