First DUI Offense Ignition Interlock Requirements in Colorado

First DUI Offense Ignition Interlock Requirements in Colorado

Being accused of a DUI is a serious matter no matter how it happens. Without understanding your rights, you could be facing serious penalties. That’s why you need to hire a Colorado DUI defense lawyer immediately after being accused.

Any driver who is aged 21 and above who is stopped for a DWAI or a DUI offense in the state of Colorado and has submitted a breath or blood test ringing in at 0.08 BAC or higher or has refused a chemical test, is subject to having their driver’s license revoked. Out-of-state residents who are stopped anywhere in Colorado are subject to the same process and term as regular Colorado residents.

License Suspensions and Consequences for DUI in Colorado

The license suspension for a blood or breath test result of more than 0.08 but less that 0.15 is 9 months. Colorado residents may also be eligible to reinstate this early after 30 days of no driving with an ignition interlock on their vehicle for an 8-month period. 100% compliance enables an individual to have this ignition interlock device removed after 4 months. In the event that your blood or breath test is higher than 0.15 or if you refuse a chemical test, the ignition interlock requirement is for a 2-year period. Colorado will also label these drivers as persistent drunk drivers. Individuals who submit a chemical test of 0.15 or higher is eligible for reinstatement as a Colorado resident after 30 days of no driving. Those who refuse a chemical test may be eligible after 60 days of no driving.

Given that not being able to drive could impact your ability to carry out your life as well as complete responsibilities for your work, it is important to identify an experienced Denver DUI defense attorney as soon as possible. This can make a significant impact on whether or not you are able to succeed with your case and put these charges behind you. If you are in the state of Colorado and have been accused of DUI, it is imperative that you take this charge seriously and contact a knowledgeable attorney as soon as possible.

Facing charges for a DUI Offense? If so, your future is on the line. Contact our office today for a free criminal defense consultation. It may be on of the most important phone calls of your life. Denver Office: 303-981-6366

Englewood Office: 303-595-4342