During a night out with friends, it is easy to drink a little more than expected. However, you should never get behind the wheel of a motor vehicle when drunk. Your ability to drive is severely impacted if you have a high BAC level. However, if you are facing DUI charges, you have the right to defend yourself. At the Law Office of Richard B. Huttner, we can help you. We have extensive experience defending against misdemeanors and felony charges in Denver and across the Front Range of Colorado.
Colorado Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC)
Blood alcohol concentration (BAC), also referred to as blood alcohol content or blood alcohol level, is used to determine alcohol intoxication. If the BAC level is above 0.08 percent, then the motorist can be charged with DUI (Driving Under the Influence). If it is between 0.05 percent and 0.08 percent, then the motorist can be charged with DWAI (Driving While Ability Impaired).
The DWAI charge is not used in all states, but Colorado uses it to punish drivers who have lower alcohol levels but are not fit to drive. Any motorist under the age of 21 with a blood or breath content of .02 percent or greater, would be charged with underage drinking and driving (UDD). The Colorado BAC limit for commercial drivers is 0.04 percent.
Colorado DUI Laws and Penalties
Under Colorado Law, the penalties for DUI depend on several factors, including a history of alcohol-related driving violations. A DUI conviction can lead to fines, jail time, driver’s license revocation, mandatory community service, and other types of administrative penalties and criminal penalties. The penalties increase significantly for persistent drunk drivers.
The Colorado DUI statute covers drugs, alcohol, or a combination of both. If a police officer suspects you of DUI, they can pull you over to conduct a sobriety test. Colorado has an express consent law, which means that all drivers agree to a chemical test if suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If you refuse a sobriety test, you face a one-year driver’s license revocation and this could be worse if you have a history of refusing chemical tests.
Consult an Experienced Attorney
Were you charged for driving above the Colorado legal limit? We can help you with all DUI-related charges. If you need to consult an experienced attorney who has handled several DUI cases, you can get in touch with us at the Law Office of Richard B. Huttner. We offer a free consultation session so you can get legal advice in your initial consultation without paying any fees. You can learn more about Colorado’s BAC limit laws on our website.